The perks of being a wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky.

Leave a comment

December 3, 2016 by Quiahuitzin

whatsapp-image-2016-12-03-at-19-10-46This past weekend I’ve been reading this book by Stephen Chbosky.

It’s a beautiful book about a introvert boy called Charlie who writes letters to an unknown person telling how his life is going… He talks about friendship, adolescence, love, homosexuality (in the 90’s), drugs, family… life in general, he has a special, very sensitive way to see life. That’s actually the great part of the book: how he feels being part of something. How he feels in the group of friends, how he feels in his family,  how he feels about his past… about books, music (I really love the books and music that appears in the book too, and in fact, I’ve been listening to The Smiths and music from the 90’s the whole weekend)

whatsapp-image-2016-12-03-at-19-07-42The story actually is not very special, but the way he tells it: it is. It remindes me about the aesthetic in The catcher in the rye. He’s a special person, and you get to hear his thoughs.

THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER

Also, it has been an special lecture for me because it’s one of the favourites book to a very close friend of mine, and I’ve been thinking about our relationship while I was reading. I felt identify with the characters and the things they do, althought, they do very tipical things… But, as I’ve said before, it’s not about the story itself, but, about how you experience it. I don’t know, I can just say it’s beautifu… I felt moved.

feel

There’s also a film, it’s quite famous and I’ve heard it’s quite good too, so I want to watch it too.

moment

The thing I’ve really liked the most is Charlie’s sensibility, some quotes and morals, and how he talks about literature and music. Beauty and melancholy: these are the main ingredients of this book.

200_s

 

Leave a Reply

